RTÉ NSO Berlioz, Poulenc & Saint-Saëns

  • National Concert Hall Earlsfort Terrace Dublin, County Dublin Ireland

RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Rachel Kelly soprano (replaces Ailish Tynan)

Fergal Caulfield, organ

Jean-Luc Tingaud conductor

Presented by Paul Herriott, RTÉ lyric fm

BERLIOZ Les nuits d’été / 31’

POULENC Les biches Suite / 16’

SAINT-SAËNS Symphony No. 3 in C minor, ‘Organ Symphony’ / 36’

Composed in the wake of his failed marriage to Irish actress Harriet Smithson, Berlioz’s Les nuits d’été is a haunting leave-taking of love, full of light and shade, languorous, airy, melancholic. Poulenc’s saucy ballet suite Les biches playfully hints at a host of other composers (Mozart, Tchaikovsky and Stravinsky included) in a deliciously frothy and naughty concoction. Saint-Saëns’ Third Symphony is a feast of memorable melodies, none more glorious than its magically twinkling piano duet theme and soaring organ chorale.

Presented by RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra

Tickets Available Here